ARC Review: This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab


This Savage Song
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Author: Victoria Schwab
Published June 7th 2016 by Titan Books Ltd

Goodreads Summary
There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher. This in no way impacted on my view.

Everywhere you turn on Twitter or GR, V.E. Schwab is an author loved by many. I tried one of her earlier books sometime last year, and found it wasn't for me, maybe if I went back to it in the future, I'd love it as much as my friends. When I initially heard about this book, I was immediately intrigued by the premise, and requested a review copy, hoping this would be the book to make me see why Schwab is loved by so many fantasy fans.

Well, if you've already checked my rating, or the tags, you'll have seen that, yet again, I had DNFed a book by this author. I started the book early in June, during my exams, and even took it on holiday with me at the end of that month. After June, even though I was only 39% of the way through the book, I didn't pick it up again, simply because I was bored. There was nothing wrong with the book, in particular, but I just wasn't invested in the characters, in the plot, in the writing - exactly like I'd been with A Darker Shade of Magic. So, after another month and a bit, I decided not to prolong the inevitable, and just mark the book as DNF.

Like I said, there's nothing wrong with the book, but I think it's safe to say that me and Schwab's books just don't get on. I know loads of people adore her books, and rightly so, because the premises of them all sound fantastic, but for me, they just don't work. I'm likely the outlier when it comes to this book, so don't just take my review as your only one when it comes to your decision to try this book. Hopefully, if you do try them, you'll love the books like so many others have, I'm just not one of them.

Dates Read:
June 2-August 9, 2016


0 Stars/Did Not Finish

You Might Also Like