Blog Tour & ARC Review: Mind Games (Lock & Mori #2) by Heather W. Petty


Mind Games
Series: Lock & Mori #2
Author: Heather W. Petty
Published December 6th 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Summary

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.


I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way impacted on my view.

Lock & Mori was one of my favourite books this year, and I couldn't wait to get my hands on book 2. When the opportunity came up to be a part of the blog tour, I jumped at the chance, so thank you Hannah, and the team at Simon & Schuster!

After the ending of Lock & Mori, Mori is now feeling somewhat safe. Her father has been arrested, and she and her younger brothers are safe from his abuse. However, there are many who believe her father had nothing to do with the murders, and instead, are blaming Mori. As she becomes more and more involved in keeping her father in prison, and proving her innocence, the more she falls into danger. As always, Lock is by her side, and she finds herself relying on him more, but by doing so, he is also put in danger.

I loved Mori so much! In book 1, she endeared herself to me from the beginning, and this book is no different. She finds herself allowing some weaknesses, as she doesn't have to protect herself and her brothers from her evil father, but once it's clear someone is framing her for murder, and everyone she cares about is in danger, she reverts into a shell, pushing everyone away so they can't be hurt. She's not the typical YA heroine, but her strength is one of her most compelling attributes, and I find myself loving everything she does. I can't wait for the next book to she how she improves and progresses more. 

There is some romance in this book, with Lock and Mori now more open with each other and with their feelings. They don't have many 'in your face' romantic times, but what there is, made me smile at every turn. The book rocked the boat a bit, in terms of their relationship, and I reckon there's more angst to come. 

All in all, this was an amazing follow up to Lock & Mori, and I would urge everyone to go out and get this book!

Dates Read:
November 14-15, 2016

5 Stars

Heather Petty has been obsessed with mysteries since she was twelve, which is when she decided that stories about murders in London drawing rooms and English seaside villages were far superior to all other stories. She is the author of the Lock & Mori series. She lives in Reno, Nevada, with her husband, daughter, and four hopelessly devious cats. You can visit her online at

Tour Schedule:
Week 1:

Week 2:

3 Finished Copies of MIND GAMES (US Only)

Thanks, Hannah @ Banana Reviews for letting me be a part of the tour!

You Might Also Like


  1. thanks for the review--you've confirmed that I have to read these books. I love mysteries and great characters.

  2. Thank you for your review. Every new review I read about this book makes me more and more excited to read it.