ARC Review: Star Struck (The Ladybirds #4) by Jenny McLachlan


Star Struck
Series: The Ladybirds #4
Author: Jenny McLachlan
Published March 10th 2016 by Bloomsbury Childrens

Goodreads Synopsis
Following on from Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb and Sunkissed, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.

In a huge fantastic final hurrah to our lovable heroines - Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl - Jenny McLachlan's latest book tells Pearl's story. Pearl is the 'bad girl' of the group - she drinks, she smokes, she swears - and she's mean to Bea and Betty. But she did fly halfway round the world to rescue Kat in Sunkissed. If there's one thing Pearl knows deep down, it is how to be a friend. And now, more than ever, she could really use a friend.

There will be laughter, there will be tears and there will definitely be kissing. Most importantly, Pearl will be keeping it fierce!

See my reviews for the previous books:
- Flirty Dancing (#1)
- Love Bomb (#2)
- Sunkissed (#3)

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way impacted on my view.

This series soon became a favourite of mine last summer, and I was waiting with baited breath for the final instalment. Pearl, the MC in Star Struck, has been a cow for the past books, but she somewhat redeemed herself in Sunkissed when she flew to Sweden when Kat needed a friend. Well, it's safe to say I understand why she has been so abrupt and bitchy, when you read from her PoV.

In Star Struck, Pearl wants to play Juliet in the school production of Romeo and Juliet. Her plan is scuppered when new girl, Hoshi, arrives from Japan, and 'steals' her role. Pearl, in her usual bitchy self, plans to get even, and make Hoshi's life hell. However, she soon becomes friends with Hoshi, and learns why she had to leave Japan.

I loved Pearl. Her attitude in the previous books had been a bit grating at times, but after I read Sunkissed, I was dying to read more about her. Her home situation is not great - I mean, I was scared for her at times, it was that bad - and she had to put on this facade to deal with it all. She's just re-making friends with the Ladybirds, but they are still on egg shells, mainly because of her. The only thing I can say I wanted more of, was interacting between the Ladybirds, as there wasn't too much.

Pearl's friendship with Hoshi was wonderful to read. It started off really bristle-y, as Pearl was jealous of pretty much everything about Hoshi - she was pretty, she was an amazing singer/actress, and she made friends with the Ladybirds really easily. In short, she seemed like Pearl x2. However, once they became proper friends, and Pearl stopped hating on her, they became really close, and Hoshi was the only person who she told about her home situation.

Like the synopsis said, there is kissing in this book, and it was wonderful to read. No spoilers, but I was so happy with it! Really, it was definitely swoony :)

Star Struck wasn't my favourite book of the series, but I think it was a close second. That title still goes to Flirty Dancing, because Bollie are the cutest! Pearl was nothing like I was expecting, she definitely had hidden depths that we're only just able to see. If you've loved this series, or are a fan of fun, but sometimes serious, contemporary UKYA, this is the book for you!

Dates Read:
March 1-2, 2016


4 Stars

You Might Also Like