Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pick is:

The Girl at Midnight
Series: The Girl at Midnight #1
Author: Melissa Grey
Published April 28th 2015 by ATOM

Goodreads Summary
Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Why I'm waiting:
  • It's "perfect for readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone", and I adored both these series.
  • I've already pre-ordered it.
  • Melissa is such a sweetheart on twitter.
Are you waiting for this book? Have you already read it? Let me know :)

You Might Also Like